Littlemill is situated near Bowling on the north bank of the Clyde close to Glasgow. The first claim of the distillery’s existence is from at least 1772 when accommodation was built for the distillery’s excise officers to live in. However new evidence has emerged suggesting that the distillery was purchased by George Buchanan in 1750 when he bought Auchterlonie estate. Up until the 1930’s the distillery’s produce was triple distilled. The stills in the distillery were of unique design, attributed to Mr Thomas the owner of the distillery, being pot stills with rectifying columns at their neck. The hope was that this would make a whisky which could mature more quickly. At one stage the distillery made three different types of malt whisky, Littlemill, Dunglass and Dumbuck. From 1972 however they concentrated on producing solely Littlemill. The distillery has had many owners throughout its history but is now owned by Loch Lomond Distillery Co. It was reopened for a short spell in 1989 but has since been closed and the distilling equipment partly dismantled.
Showing the single result