The Tobermory (previously known as Ledaig) distillery was founded in 1798 and is the only one on the island of Mull. The present buildings were erected during its first period of operation which continued until 1826. Tobermory is the main village on Mull and the home of the distillery. It is a dramatic location at the foot of a steep hill with the distillery signalling the beginning of the village, which spreads round a broad bay. The distillery was ‘silent’ for long periods in the mid 1800s and mid 1900s and was twice revived during the 1970s. Now it has been revived again and is owned by Burn Stewart Distillers. One of the oldest commercial distilleries in Scotland, he Tobermory Distillery is quite unique to other distilleries as it produces two very distinct single malt Scotch Whiskies, Tobermory single malt, which has an extremely smooth taste profile and the robustly peated Ledaig single malt.
Showing all 4 results